my daughter's killer movie review

Common Sense Media

Movie & TV reviews for parents

  • For Parents
  • For Educators
  • Our Work and Impact

Or browse by category:

  • Get the app
  • Movie Reviews
  • Best Movie Lists
  • Best Movies on Netflix, Disney+, and More

Common Sense Selections for Movies

my daughter's killer movie review

50 Modern Movies All Kids Should Watch Before They're 12

my daughter's killer movie review

  • Best TV Lists
  • Best TV Shows on Netflix, Disney+, and More
  • Common Sense Selections for TV
  • Video Reviews of TV Shows

my daughter's killer movie review

Best Kids' Shows on Disney+

my daughter's killer movie review

Best Kids' TV Shows on Netflix

  • Book Reviews
  • Best Book Lists
  • Common Sense Selections for Books

my daughter's killer movie review

8 Tips for Getting Kids Hooked on Books

my daughter's killer movie review

50 Books All Kids Should Read Before They're 12

  • Game Reviews
  • Best Game Lists

Common Sense Selections for Games

  • Video Reviews of Games

my daughter's killer movie review

Nintendo Switch Games for Family Fun

my daughter's killer movie review

  • Podcast Reviews
  • Best Podcast Lists

Common Sense Selections for Podcasts

my daughter's killer movie review

Parents' Guide to Podcasts

my daughter's killer movie review

  • App Reviews
  • Best App Lists

my daughter's killer movie review

Social Networking for Teens

my daughter's killer movie review

Gun-Free Action Game Apps

my daughter's killer movie review

Reviews for AI Apps and Tools

  • YouTube Channel Reviews
  • YouTube Kids Channels by Topic

my daughter's killer movie review

Parents' Ultimate Guide to YouTube Kids

my daughter's killer movie review

YouTube Kids Channels for Gamers

  • Preschoolers (2-4)
  • Little Kids (5-7)
  • Big Kids (8-9)
  • Pre-Teens (10-12)
  • Teens (13+)
  • Screen Time
  • Social Media
  • Online Safety
  • Identity and Community

my daughter's killer movie review

Real-Life Heroes on YouTube for Tweens and Teens

  • Family Tech Planners
  • Digital Skills
  • All Articles
  • Latino Culture
  • Black Voices
  • Asian Stories
  • Native Narratives
  • LGBTQ+ Pride
  • Best of Diverse Representation List

my daughter's killer movie review

Celebrating Black History Month

my daughter's killer movie review

Movies and TV Shows with Arab Leads

my daughter's killer movie review

Celebrate Hip-Hop's 50th Anniversary

My daughter's killer, common sense media reviewers.

my daughter's killer movie review

Father seeks justice for murdered daughter; sexual violence.

My Daughter's Killer Movie

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this movie.

Perseverance can win in the end, but it takes a to

A father pursues his daughter's unremorseful kille

Takes place in France and Germany. On-screen parti

A woman describes a rape 27 years prior when she w

A man injected women and underage girls with paral

Parents need to know that My Daughter's Killer is a French documentary chronicling the decades-long battle waged by a father to bring his daughter's killer to justice in the face of police inaction. His perseverance also brings to light the killer's other crimes. Two women describe being drugged and raped…

Positive Messages

Perseverance can win in the end, but it takes a toll.

Positive Role Models

A father pursues his daughter's unremorseful killer for decades, seeking justice rather than revenge, but ultimately uses questionable methods to bring the man to face the authorities.

Diverse Representations

Takes place in France and Germany. On-screen participants are mostly French and German.

Did we miss something on diversity? Suggest an update.

Violence & Scariness

A woman describes a rape 27 years prior when she was a teen. She was injected with a paralytic, raped. A man accused of rape and murder is kidnapped and beaten and brought to France, where a warrant stood for his crimes. An autopsy notes that a murdered girl's genitals were bruised, indicating possibility of sexual abuse, but when authorities exhume the body years later, they discover her genitals were removed, presumably to get rid of evidence of a crime. A rapist and killer is completely unrepentant. A man who cheated on his wife with her friend also drugged underage girls and had sex with them. An unrepentant rapist giddily claims that if a woman doesn't say no, she is consenting.

Did you know you can flag iffy content? Adjust limits for Violence & Scariness in your kid's entertainment guide.

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

A man injected women and underage girls with paralytics and sedatives to have sex with them against their will.

Did you know you can flag iffy content? Adjust limits for Drinking, Drugs & Smoking in your kid's entertainment guide.

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that My Daughter's Killer is a French documentary chronicling the decades-long battle waged by a father to bring his daughter's killer to justice in the face of police inaction. His perseverance also brings to light the killer's other crimes. Two women describe being drugged and raped. Someone is abducted. An autopsy notes that a murdered girl's genitals were bruised, indicating the possibility of sexual abuse, but when authorities exhume the body years later, they discover that her genitals were removed, presumably to get rid of evidence of a crime. A rapist and killer is completely unrepentant. A man who cheated on his wife with her friend also drugged underage girls and had sex with them. An unrepentant rapist giddily claims that if a woman doesn't say no, she is consenting. A man's beaten face is shown. In French with English subtitles. To stay in the loop on more movies like this, you can sign up for weekly Family Movie Night emails .

Where to Watch

Videos and photos.

My Daughter's Killer Movie: Scene # 1

Community Reviews

  • Parents say

There aren't any parent reviews yet. Be the first to review this title.

What's the Story?

While Andre Bamberski was living in France in 1983, his 16-year-old daughter Kalinka died mysteriously in Germany, where she lived with her mother and stepfather, Dr. Dieter Krombach. MY DAUGHTER'S KILLER follows the dad's remarkable and dogged refusal to accept the story that the death was accidental. His hard work eventually unearths the stepfather's history of sexual abuse and drugging and raping underage victims. He's eventually sentenced in France, but Germany refuses to extradite him. He's convicted in Germany of another rape, but the punishment is a mere suspension of his medical license. He nevertheless goes on to practice without the license for years around Germany. It's not until Bamberski has him kidnapped and brought to France that he faces real prison time, a sentence of 15 years. He was released early for medical reasons and died seven months of release.

Is It Any Good?

My Daughter's Killer is a solid, absorbing documentary that goes beyond the ordinary cold case investigation. It focuses on the remarkable doggedness of a skeptical grieving parent who simply refused to believe his healthy child had died of natural causes. It's well-paced with twists and turns that rival great fictional films. Teen fans of true crime stories will be thoroughly engaged (and outraged).

Talk to Your Kids About ...

Families can talk about a lawyer's contention that revenge isn't justice. Do you think the father in this case was seeking revenge, or justice? Why?

Why do you think the police ignored this case for so long?

What role do you think politics between France and Germany played in delaying the extradition of the criminal from Germany to France for justice?

Movie Details

  • On DVD or streaming : July 12, 2022
  • Director : Antoine Tassin
  • Studio : Netflix
  • Genre : Documentary
  • Run time : 83 minutes
  • MPAA rating : NR
  • Last updated : February 17, 2023

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Suggest an Update

Our editors recommend.

The Staircase Poster Image

The Staircase

Want personalized picks for your kids' age and interests?

Night Stalker: The Hunt for a Serial Killer

True crime tv for teens, best documentaries.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

Home » Movies » Movie Reviews

My Daughter’s Killer review – a fathers love turns into a 30 year obsession

review-my-daughters-killer-netflix-true-crime-documentary

Netflix true-crime documentary My Daughter’s Killer was released on the streaming service on July 12, 2022. 

Netflix has released its latest crime-thriller documentary My Daughter’s Killer,  where we follow the story of a dedicated father who fights for decades to bring his daughter’s killer to justice. This spine-chilling saga takes us across France and Germany, desperately seeking justice for a 14-year-old girl who tragically lost her life. 

There is a powerful interest in the genre of crime and murder, with Netflix, Amazon and other streaming sites creating documentaries for our growing viewing needs. Fortunately, and unfortunately there are hundreds of stories of interest, and this is a harrowing and fascinating one. 

The documentary is focused around André Bamberski’s fight for justice in the 1980s when his daughter was killed and lawful procedures were overturned. This story is emotive, powerful, and frustrating. Kalinka Bamberski was only 14 when she was murdered in 1982 in Lindau, Germany. We are led to believe she was killed by her stepfather Dieter Krombach, who has always proclaimed his innocence. He was arrested but let go due to a lack of evidence. Evidence, we learn, that has been purposefully removed. Andre was so distraught that he put signs around the neighbourhoods slating Dieter, who then sued him for defamation.

T he first part of the documentary leads you into seeing a desperate father who’s looking for any reason for his daughter’s death, as he won’t accept natural causes, and I thought that Andre was really pushing for answers that might not be there. Then as the documentary continues, you follow the story of the Stepfather and his corruption and you really root for Andre to find and uncover the truth. Dieter was a seedy, creepy, manipulative man, who took advantage of people. He was a doctor, by profession, and many victims spoke out against him, with allegations of sexual assault and rape. Here, you can decide whether you think he was responsible for the death of his stepdaughter. 

Later, Andre paid kidnappers to bring Dieter to France where he could be properly extradited. This begs the questions, can we do bad in order to do good things? Is it worth doing something illegal, horrible, in order to potentially get a good outcome? It’s a difficult story which will leave you with mixed feelings and emotions as you try to see all sides. This documentary will have you questioning your morals, and asking yourself what are you capable of doing for your children?

Like most crime documentaries we have interviews with family, friends, police, investigators, lawyers and reporters at that time, all giving an insight and opinion into what happened and how Andre navigated and made choices into trying to find justice. What’s really important and interesting to watch is that Andre himself is in the documentary, talking us through his personal experience, thoughts and emotions at that time. We’re really getting a first-class insight into this tragic story. 

At one hour and twenty-four minutes you can certainly get your crime binge from watching this documentary. For me, it’s a story of a passionate father who needed answers but tried to get them in ways which made him a criminal. Therefore, is there really any justice? I really enjoyed watching this documentary. It’s a sad story with an emotional drive and is well worth watching. 

What did you think of the Netflix true-crime documentary My Daughter’s Killer? Comment below.

Recommended Articles

  • How I Caught My Killer Season 1 Review

' data-src=

Article by Romey Norton

Romey Norton joined Ready Steady Cut in June 2021 as a Film and TV writer, and since then, she has published over 400 articles for the website. With a Master of Arts Degree from the University of Leeds in 2017 and acting experience on screen, Romey uses her Film and TV knowledge to bring informative and detailed content for online publications and podcasting.

season 2 of the Netflix series Bridgerton

Bridgerton season 2 review - will it be as popular as the first season?

Netflix series Soundtrack Season 1, Episode 4 - Track 4: Margot and Frank

Soundtrack Recap: Opposing Parents

This website cannot be displayed as your browser is extremely out of date.

Please update your browser to one of the following: Chrome , Firefox , Edge

UK Edition Change

  • UK Politics
  • News Videos
  • Paris 2024 Olympics
  • Rugby Union
  • Sport Videos
  • John Rentoul
  • Mary Dejevsky
  • Andrew Grice
  • Sean O’Grady
  • Photography
  • Theatre & Dance
  • Culture Videos
  • Fitness & Wellbeing
  • Food & Drink
  • Health & Families
  • Royal Family
  • Electric Vehicles
  • Car Insurance Deals
  • Lifestyle Videos
  • UK Hotel Reviews
  • News & Advice
  • Simon Calder
  • Australia & New Zealand
  • South America
  • C. America & Caribbean
  • Middle East
  • Politics Explained
  • News Analysis
  • Today’s Edition
  • Home & Garden
  • Broadband deals
  • Fashion & Beauty
  • Travel & Outdoors
  • Sports & Fitness
  • Sustainable Living
  • Climate Videos
  • Solar Panels
  • Behind The Headlines
  • On The Ground
  • Decomplicated
  • You Ask The Questions
  • Binge Watch
  • Travel Smart
  • Watch on your TV
  • Crosswords & Puzzles
  • Most Commented
  • Newsletters
  • Ask Me Anything
  • Virtual Events
  • Betting Sites
  • Online Casinos
  • Wine Offers

Thank you for registering

Please refresh the page or navigate to another page on the site to be automatically logged in Please refresh your browser to be logged in

Kalinka was 14 when she was killed. Thirty years later, her father captured the man responsible

Netflix’s new true-crime documentary tells the story of kalinka bamberski’s death and her father’s extraordinary, 30-year quest for justice against the man responsible. tom murray speaks to the father, andré bamberski, who arranged the kidnapping of his daughter’s killer after being failed by the judicial system, article bookmarked.

Find your bookmarks in your Independent Premium section, under my profile

Kalinka Bamberski

For free real time breaking news alerts sent straight to your inbox sign up to our breaking news emails

Sign up to our free breaking news emails, thanks for signing up to the breaking news email.

I n the early hours of 18 October 2009, in a French city near the Swiss and German borders, a bound and gagged German doctor named Dieter Krombach was hauled out of a car and tossed into a backstreet. The man responsible was an unassuming accountant from Toulouse, who was convinced that Krombach had killed his 14-year-old daughter 27 years earlier . Putting in an anonymous call to local police, he insisted that he had finally brought a notorious fugitive to justice.

André Bamberski, the accountant in question, is now the subject of an extraordinary new Netflix documentary titled My Daughter’s Killer, the latest in the streamer’s neverending output of true crime . It traces Bamberski’s relentless pursuit of Krombach over nearly three decades and across multiple countries. “It was not about vengeance,” Bamberski, now well into his 80s, told me. “It was about getting justice.”

Bamberski and Krombach were first linked through the same woman. It was while working in Morocco in the early 1970s that Bamberski’s wife Danièle struck up an affair with Krombach, then a handsome and well-respected physician. Bamberski, Danièle and their daughter Kalinka fled the country for Toulouse in the aftermath of the affair, only for Krombach to follow them. The tryst continued, and Bamberski’s marriage broke down. Bamberski remained in Toulouse, and Danièle moved with Krombach to Lindau, a lake town in Bavaria, where Kalinka would spend her summers. On 10 July 1982, Bamberski received a phone call from Danièle. Kalinka was dead. Krombach blamed heatstroke. Bamberski was unconvinced.

It transpired that Krombach had injected Kalinka with a cocktail of drugs. He admitted to administering a mystery compound – which he did not name, but claimed it helped her tan more easily – as well as iron and cobalt to treat anaemia, from which she did not suffer. When he found Kalinka unconscious, he told police he’d injected her with dopamine and Dilaudid, one a neurotransmitter that increases a person’s heart rate, the other an opioid used to treat severe pain. Later, a French investigation would discover that he had also injected her with Novidigal, Isoptin and cortisone, the combination of which was dangerous and inexplicable to medical experts.

Evidence of sexual assault was found during Kalinka’s autopsy. Observers also believe that Krombach was present during the autopsy, and he is quoted in the report making medical observations. German authorities, though, maintain that he remained outside the room. The most disturbing detail, however, is that the young girl’s genitals were removed during the examination and subsequently disappeared. In one of the most difficult-to-watch moments in the documentary, Bamberski tells the camera: “Kalinka got carved up like a pig in a slaughterhouse, but nobody wanted to know how and why she died.”

Serial killers, brutal murder and the rise of the podcast detectives

Bamberski knew none of this until three years after Kalinka’s death, when he finally received a copy of the autopsy report. It was enough evidence for him to conclude that Krombach was responsible for his daughter’s death and sexual abuse but, apparently, not enough for the German authorities. They did not so much as interview the doctor. A criminal investigation was never launched, as the case had already been closed. It was then that Bamberski’s quest for justice began.

Andre Bamberski in ‘My Daughter’s Killer’

We speak over the phone via a translator, and Bamberski greets me with an “enchanté”. He speaks with the triumphant air of a man who has finally been proven right, if slightly embittered against the bureaucracy that waylaid him for so long. It would take 29 years for Krombach to finally be convicted of manslaughter over Kalinka’s death, with a French court sentencing him to 15 years in prison. It was not quite what Bamberski wanted. “It was tinged with a great sadness,” he says. “For someone to effectively kill someone through poisoning, the minimum sentence should be either a life sentence or 30 years. So it saddens me that he wasn’t given the sentence that he deserved.”

He’s left conflicted about the nature of fighting for justice, even if he is satisfied that he’s done his best by his daughter

In 1988, French forensic experts established the cobalt-iron injection as the cause of Kalinka’s death due to asphyxia and cardiovascular shock. It took years to commit Krombach to the Assize Court in Paris for murder and when, finally, he was found guilty in absentia in 1995, Germany refused to extradite him. The French ministry of law also refused to issue an international warrant for his arrest. “Those legal proceedings caused me to suffer so much,” Bamberski says in the documentary. “I felt like I couldn’t trust anyone any more.”

His concerns were proven warranted in 1997, when Krombach was arrested for drugging and raping a 16-year-old female patient. Five more rape accusers came forward, but were rejected by the German court due to a lack of forensic evidence. Astonishingly, Krombach received a mere slap on the knuckles – a two-year suspended sentence and a ban from practising medicine for two years. Some of the documentary’s most disquieting footage arrives at this moment, when a rare TV news interview with Krombach is shown in which the doctor mocks his victim. “She never said yes, but she never said no either,” Krombach laughs. The presenter points out that he had drugged his victim, to which the doctor replies: “Like they said in ancient Rome: ‘Those who remain silent seem to agree.’” It is a palpable moment of pure evil.

Apple TV+ logo

Watch Apple TV+ free for 7 days

New subscribers only. £8.99/mo. after free trial. Plan auto-renews until cancelled

In 2006, Krombach was foiled once more, after he was identified by a librarian whose local GP had just hired him as a fill-in doctor. It turned out that, since 1997, Krombach had been travelling around Germany as a “locum doctor”, picking up substitute shifts on his old licence. Upon his arrest, he was found with a suitcase full of money and a penis pump. During his travels, Krombach had continued to sexually assault patients. It’s a stark reminder of the importance of Bamberski’s crusade. While the authorities appeared to look away, it was Bamberski who stayed busy tracking Krombach’s every move, making frequent visits to wherever the doctor had relocated.

“Bamberski was the one who saw what was happening behind closed doors,” says My Daughter’s Killer producer James Rogan. “He intuited it from the evidence that he gathered around Kalinka and his own instincts.” As one of Krombach’s survivors in the documentary puts it: “Mr Bamberski, he knew something was off and he was right. Completely right.”

Krombach was handed a 28-month sentence and served just 11 of them. It was at this point that Bamberski decided to take matters into his own hands. He tracked Krombach to Scheidegg in Germany, near Landau, and discovered that the doctor planned to up sticks once more. Sensing his window closing – France has a 30-year limit on legal procedures – Bamberski put up advertisements around Bregenz in Austria, near the German border, seeking assistance in the transferal of Krombach to France. One of those who responded was Anton Krasniqi, a Kosovan living in the town.

Dr Dieter Krombach

Krasniqi is the documentary’s most eccentric character. He says with a knowing smile that if Kalinka was his daughter, Krombach would have received “a short trial – tidy, short, quick”. Krasniqi refused to accept payment for the kidnapping. “He behaved very differently to other people who had come to me before,” Bamberski tells me. Krasniqi enlisted the help of two Russian mobsters who bundled Krombach into a car outside his home and drove him across the border into France. Listening to Bamberski, you’ll find it unthinkable that this understated accountant could have been responsible for a violent kidnapping. “Before taking this big step, I basically decided not to study [and] not to learn what would be the legal consequences for me instigating the removal of this suspect from one country to another,” Bamberski explains. “As a matter of fact, in the end, it was very lucky for me that I hadn’t studied these consequences. If I had, I would not have gone ahead with it. If I’d not gone ahead with it, justice would never have been reached.”

On 22 October 2011, Krombach was sentenced to 15 years in prison for causing intentional bodily harm resulting in unintentional death. It was not the murder conviction that Bamberski wanted, but it would see Krombach spend his remaining years in a jail cell. Danièle had previously defended Krombach, until she discovered during witness testimonies that he had been sedating her in order to have sex with a 16-year-old girl in their home. As for Bamberski, he was given a one-year suspended jail sentence for orchestrating the abduction. “I fully respect that people can be morally against my removal of the doctor from Germany to France, but everyone must respect that – legally – I did nothing wrong,” he tells me. “That was proven by the judicial system.”

Anton Krasniqi in ‘My Daughter’s Killer’

Bamberski has won, but the toll the fight has taken on him can never really be estimated. “The truth is, that he’s still living it,” Rogan says. “He’s still very much into the questions that were unanswered… He’s left conflicted about the nature of fighting for justice, even if he is satisfied that he’s done his best by his daughter.” Throughout our conversation, “justice” is the buzzword with Bamberski. Despite everything, he did not want revenge; he wanted people to know he was right.

I ask where this innate sense of right and wrong came from. “I’m from Poland,” he says. “I’m from a Slavic background, and my parents always taught me to act honestly. I’m proud that I was always totally honest.”

‘My Daughter’s Killer’ is streaming on Netflix now

Join our commenting forum

Join thought-provoking conversations, follow other Independent readers and see their replies

Subscribe to Independent Premium to bookmark this article

Want to bookmark your favourite articles and stories to read or reference later? Start your Independent Premium subscription today.

New to The Independent?

Or if you would prefer:

Want an ad-free experience?

Hi {{indy.fullName}}

  • My Independent Premium
  • Account details
  • Help centre

My Daughter's Killer: what happened to Kalinka Bamberski? All your questions answered

My Daughter's Killer: what happened to Kalinka Bamberski and where is Dieter Krombach now? All you need to know about the latest true crime documentary on Netflix.

My Daughter's Killer André Bamberski, Kalinka's father

My Daughter's Killer is the latest true-crime documentary to arrive on Netflix that will leave your blood running cold. The sickening yet heartbreaking story of Kalinka Bamberski tells how a father's love for his daughter turned into a devastating 30-year obsession after the teenager was found dead in her bed. But as André Bamberski vowed to get justice for his daughter, his quest soon took a turn that no one saw coming. 

But what happened to Kalinka Bamberski? Where is her killer, Dieter Krombach, now? Here are all your questions about My Daughter's Killer answered...

*WARNING — this article contains references to sexual abuse that readers may find upsetting*

Who is Kalinka Bamberski?

My Daughter's Killer - Kalinka Bamberski

Kalinka Bamberski was the eldest child of André and Danielle Bamberski and grew up in France with her parents and a younger brother called Nicolas. 

However, her life was set to change when her parents went through a bitter divorce after her mother had an affair with their neighbor, Dr Dieter Krombach. 

After her parents' split, Kalinka and her brother went to live with Danielle and Krombach in Lindau, Germany with Krombach's own two children, Boris and Diana.

What happened to Kalinka Bamberski?

My Daughter's Killer - Kalinka Bamberski with her family

On July 10, 1982 Kalinka Bamberski was found dead at home, but it soon became apparent that she had died a long while before after paramedics realized rigor mortis had set in. 

Get the What to Watch Newsletter

The latest updates, reviews and unmissable series to watch and more!

However, the plot thickened when her stepfather, renowned German doctor, Deiter Krombach, admitted he had injected her with calcium and iron, believing that she had heatstroke. But, this raised more alarms because iron and calcium are not usually used to treat heatstroke.

Evidence of sexual assault was found during Kalinka’s autopsy. It has also been reported that Krombach was present during the autopsy, and he is quoted in the report making medical observations. However, German authorities maintain that he remained outside the room. The autopsy not only revealed injuries to Kalinka’s genitals and bruises to her arms, legs and throat, but the most disturbing detail of the whole thing is that the young girl’s genitals, kidneys and rectum had been removed, meaning further tests couldn’t be carried out. The organs were never found.

Krombach was initially arrested but was quickly released due to insufficient evidence and returned to work.

Three years after the autopsy, Kalinka’s father, Andre, finally received details of how his daughter died and concluded that Kalinka must have been killed by Krombach. But according to German authorities, there wasn't enough evidence against Krombach and they didn’t even question the doctor and his motives. Instead, Andre's 30 year long quest to get justice for his daughter began... 

How did Dieter Krombach get caught?

My Daughter's Killer - Kalinka Bamberski with her stepfather Dieter Krombach

After becoming convinced that Krombach was guilty of killing Kalinka, André started following the doctor's whereabouts, making sure that he knew where he was at all times. Then, in March 1997 Krombach had his medical license taken away and was given a two-year suspended sentence after he was charged with the rape of a patient under the age of 16 at his office. 

However, after getting away with the crime with nothing more than a rap on the knuckles, Krombach secretly continued to work as a locum doctor, despite now having no license. But, his lies soon started to catch up with him when other women came forward, also accusing him of drugging and raping them while they were in his care.

One of the most shocking parts of the Netflix documentary is a rare TV interview with Krombach, which sees him apparently mocking his rape victim... “She never said yes, but she never said no either,” he laughs in the clip. The presenter then points out that he had drugged his victim, to which he replies: “As they said in ancient Rome: ‘Those who remain silent seem to agree.’” 

Eventually, Krombach went to prison in July 2007 for operating without a license, however, he served less than a year of his two-year sentence. But, that's still not the end of the story... far from it. 

In September 2009 Krombach was dumped, bloodied and bruised, outside a French police station, and he was initially taken to hospital for medical treatment before being put into custody for Kalinka's death. But how did he get there? You guessed it, this is where André's determination to bring his daughter's killer to justice comes in. 

Who is Anton Krasniqi in My Daughter's Killer?

My Daughter's Killer Anton Krasniqi

Despite Krombach being safe from prosecution in Germany, where he had been declared innocent in Munich courts, he was a wanted man in France. So André enlisted the help of Kosovo-born barman Anton Krasniqi, who, along with two Russian mob members, kidnapped Krombach on order in Germany and took him over the border to France where he could be tried for his crimes. 

Despite the severity of the job, Krasniqi didn't take any payment for the kidnapping, asking only for his expenses to be paid. In 2014, André got a one-year suspended sentence for ordering the abduction, while Krasniqi got one year in prison but maintains that he had no regrets in helping André get justice for his daughter.  

Where is Dieter Krombach now?

My Daughter's Killer - Kalinka Bamberski's father André Bamberski and stepfather Dieter Krombach

On 22 October 2011, Krombach was sentenced to 15 years in prison for causing intentional bodily harm resulting in Kalinka's unintentional death.

Krombach served nine years of his 15-year sentence before he was released on health grounds in 2020. The then 84-year-old died shortly after his release.

What happened to André Bamberski?

André Bamberski is now in his 80s and still lives in France. 

After organizing the kidnapping of Dieter Krombach, André Bamberski was put on trial and faced up to ten years in prison. His trial took place in May 2014 where he confessed that he had organized to have Krombach abducted. But the fact he had brought a wanted man to justice worked in his favor. Despite being found guilty, Bamberski was given a one-year suspended jail sentence.

Is My Daughter's Killer a true story? 

My Daughter's Killer Lindau in Germany

Yes, as this is a true-crime documentary and not a TV drama adaptation, the whole story is shockingly true. 

Is My Daughter's Killer a series?

My Daughter's Killer is a one-off documentary that lasts for one hour and twenty-four minutes. The true-crime show, which takes place in France and Germany, tells the story of 14-year-old Kalinka Bamberski who was killed by her stepfather, Dieter Krombach, leading to her father, André Bamberski, dedicating his life to bringing his daughter's killer to justice. 

Is there a trailer for My Daughter's Killer?

Yes, the trailer shows a clip of Anton Krasniqi explaining how he got involved in helping André Bamberski bring Dieter Krombach to justice. 

As the man who helped kidnap Kalinka's killer and deliver him to the authorities, Krasniqi highlights the lengths André Bamberski was willing to go to by stating: "What would you do as a father? What are you capable of doing for your child?"

Where can I watch My Daughter's Killer? 

My Daughter's Killer is available to stream on Netflix worldwide now. 

Netflix also has other new crime documentaries including The Girl in the Picture and D. B. Cooper: Where Are You? which you might want to check out.

Claire is Assistant Managing Editor at What To Watch and has been a journalist for over 15 years, writing about everything from soaps and TV to beauty, entertainment, and even the Royal Family. After starting her career at a soap magazine, she ended up staying for 13 years, and over that time she’s pulled pints in the Rovers Return, sung karaoke in the Emmerdale village hall, taken a stroll around Albert Square, and visited Summer Bay Surf Club in sunny Australia. 

After learning some tricks of the trade at websites Digital Spy, Entertainment Daily, and Woman & Home, Claire landed a role at What’s On TV and whattowatch.com writing about all things TV and film, with a particular love for Aussie soaps, Strictly Come Dancing and Bake Off . 

She’s interviewed everyone from June Brown — AKA Dot Cotton — to Michelle Keegan, swapped cooking tips with baking legend Mary Berry backstage at the NTAs, and danced the night away with soap stars at countless awards bashes. There’s not a lot she doesn’t know about soaps and TV and can be very handy when a soapy question comes up in a pub quiz! 

As well as all things soap-related, Claire also loves running, spa breaks, days out with her kids, and getting lost in a good book. 

Meet the Buying London cast: who's who in the Netflix reality show

The 8 Show episode 1 recap: Follow the rules

Yellowstone marathon airing every episode over Memorial Day weekend

Most Popular

  • 2 FBI: Most Wanted season 6 — everything we know about the crime drama
  • 3 How to watch Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga
  • 4 Dexter: Original Sin — cast, plot and everything we know about the prequel series
  • 5 The Bold and the Beautiful spoilers: Hope tells Deacon to back off?

my daughter's killer movie review

  • Advertising

Heaven of Horror

  • Prime Video
  • Best & Worst

Select Page

My Daughter’s Killer – Netflix Review (4/5)

Posted by Karina "ScreamQueen" Adelgaard | Jul 12, 2022 | 3 minutes

My Daughter’s Killer – Netflix Review (4/5)

MY DAUGHTER’S KILLER on Netflix is a new true-crime documentary with a sharp runtime of 83 minutes. It’s a very simple case that becomes complex as justice turns out to be quite fickle. Read our full  My Daughter’s Killer  documentary review here!

MY DAUGHTER’S KILLER is a new Netflix true-crime documentary from France. The case begins in Germany when a teenage girl dies mysteriously and suddenly in 1982. Her name was Kalinka Bamberski and things seem to be off from the very beginning.

This results in a case that plays out in both France and Germany as the hunt for justice takes several sharp turns. And it does eventually play out over several decades. Still, the story is told in a very complete and straightforward manner over a runtime of just 83 minutes.

Continue reading our My Daughter’s Killer  documentary review below. The true-crime documentary is out on Netflix from July 12, 2022.

The death of Kalinka Bamberski

So much seems to get in the way of justice when it comes to the death of Kalinka Bamberski. Her father, André Bamberski, is fairly quick to suspect that something isn’t as natural as everyone would have the world believe. A 14-year-old girl doesn’t just die like that.

First, it seems that heatstroke might be the cause. Then it looks like she choked on her own vomit. Also, despite calling for an ambulance sounding like she is actively dying, rigor mortis has long set in when the ambulance does arrive soon thereafter.

The strangest thing about her death; Her stepfather, Dieter Krombach, is a doctor, and the things he does to “help” save Kalinka Bamberski are all very strange. Not just to other medical professionals but to anyone who listens to the facts.

My Daughter's Killer – Review | Netflix true crime documentary

The fight for justice!

There are many things that get in the way of justice. For one, even getting anyone to look at the evidence. And then evidence disappears. We’re talking about an autopsy with strange findings and organs that are to be tested, but then seem to disappear!

Also, since Kalinka dies in Germany, where she lives with her French mother and German stepfather,  but  is still a French citizen when she dies, the two countries battle in all legal matters. France wants to avenge the death of a citizen (by way of trial, of course). Germany seems to want to protect their citizen.

Mostly because he’s a doctor. Also, he’s white and male, and as such seems to be above the law.

This is why the father of Kalinka, André Bamberski, makes it his mission in life to get justice. Especially as he finds out more and more strange things about Dr. Dieter Krombach. It turns out Dieter Krombach has committed many crimes. Most include sexual assaults of several women (often underage), which he will even admit to.

Oh no, not that he assaulted them, but rather that they didn’t say yes or no. Silence equals consent in his book. However, there is also the small detail of him always giving them strange injections that seem to paralyze them. Effectively making it impossible for them to fight back. And again, no struggle is consent to him, so voila, he’s good!

Watch My Daughter’s Killer on Netflix now!

Antoine Tassin is the director of this new Netflix true-crime documentary. This is the first feature-length production by Antoine Tassin, after having directed three shorts. Hopefully, Tassin will continue making these true-crime documentaries, because the result is very impressive!

I cannot blame André Bamberski for going to great lengths to get his daughter’s killer convicted. And I also can’t blame those who decide to help him. It’s a brutal and grotesque tale where several victims come forward, and make some drastic decisions along the way.

Importantly, this Netflix documentary does not glorify the actions of André Bamberski. It does, however, highlight all the hoops he has to jump through and how he often chooses unorthodox ways of doing so. Seriously, if you like true-crime documentaries that have been solved (to a point anyway), then do not miss out on this one!

My Daughter’s Killer is out on Netflix on July 12, 2022.

A father fights for decades to bring his daughter’s killer to justice in France and Germany before taking extreme measures. A true crime documentary.
  • Recent Posts

Karina "ScreamQueen" Adelgaard

  • Concordia – Series Review - May 24, 2024
  • Seven Orifices – Review | Netflix Series - May 24, 2024
  • Atlas – Review | Netflix (3/5) - May 24, 2024

About The Author

Karina "ScreamQueen" Adelgaard

Karina "ScreamQueen" Adelgaard

I write reviews and recaps on Heaven of Horror. And yes, it does happen that I find myself screaming, when watching a good horror movie. I love psychological horror, survival horror and kick-ass women. Also, I have a huge soft spot for a good horror-comedy. Oh yeah, and I absolutely HATE when animals are harmed in movies, so I will immediately think less of any movie, where animals are harmed for entertainment (even if the animals are just really good actors). Fortunately, horror doesn't use this nearly as much as comedy. And people assume horror lovers are the messed up ones. Go figure!

Related Posts

The Closet – Movie Review (3/5)

The Closet – Movie Review (3/5)

February 14, 2020

Still/Born (5/5)

Still/Born (5/5)

February 5, 2018

Hurt (3/5)

July 26, 2018

Boys from County Hell – Shudder Review (4/5)

Boys from County Hell – Shudder Review (4/5)

April 19, 2021

Pin It on Pinterest

  • Elections 2024
  • Entertainment
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Mobile Phones
  • Product Review
  • Board Results
  • Entrance Exams
  • Exam Results
  • Health Conditions
  • Mental Health
  • Health News
  • T20 World Cup
  • Other Sports
  • Personal Finance
  • Movie Reviews
  • Regional Cinema
  • Telugu cinema
  • Kannada cinema
  • Malayalam cinema
  • Tamil cinema
  • Book Review
  • Food & Drink
  • Relationships
  • Spirituality
  • Home & Garden
  • Education and Career
  • Latest News
  • Opinion / Analysis
  • Short Videos
  • Photo Gallery
  • Home Entertainment Movie Review

My Daughter’s Killer review: Rare Netflix true-crime doc with an eye for truth

Directed by antoine tassin, the french documentary is based on a truly horrifying story about a father's intense struggle to bring justice to his dead daughter..

my daughter's killer movie review

My Daughter’s Killer on Netflix (Photo Credits: Twitter)

My Daughter’s Killer sounds like an American Netflix true-crime documentary. Thankfully, it’s not. That’s not to say American true-crime documentaries are terrible – they’re immensely watchable, addictive almost. That’s the problem, though. I’m not sure if true crime, as a genre, should be ‘addictive’. The stories emerging from America are distinct in their absurdity. But the storytelling tends to skirt the realms of sensationalism, almost as if the makers are constantly asking us: Wow, can you believe how crazy this is? It’s not a bad thing per se. However, this style risks the loss of humanity in narratives; the entertainment value far outweighs the engagement value. My Daughter’s Killer is French. And, without reiterating stereotypes, it shows. There’s an unsaid cultural code: a sense of awareness about how the retelling of a decades-long tragedy unfurls, and an inherent trust in the viewer’s ability to locate the soul of the story. The storytelling is sharp, no-frills, and oddly poignant.

The 85-minute documentary is about a man’s tireless fight to bring his daughter’s killer to justice. Like most non-fiction features, it starts as an investigative account exploring familiar questions: How did she die? Who did it? In 1982, a 15-year-old girl, Kalinka, dies in Germany under mysterious circumstances. Her stepfather, a well-respected doctor named Dieter Krombach, claims it was sunstroke. The mother is shattered. Kalinka is buried. The autopsy report is unclear. Something isn’t right. The girl’s stepfather, Andre Bamberski, who lives in France, is soon convinced that Krombach was responsible for her death. He doesn’t have solid proof, but he knows. Except nobody believes him.

Andre is known to be a difficult man, and his bitter divorce – triggered by his ex-wife’s affair with the popular Krombach – implies a motive of revenge. He is obsessive and almost simplistic in nature. Yet, despite his reputation, he stays the course. He hires lawyers, and detectives and puts fliers all over the German town. He even follows Krombach, obsessive in his quest to prove obvious. In a way, his journey is an indictment of the role that image plays in our perception of people. The documentary does a fine job of playing up Bamberski’s isolated journey – and his tunnel-vision attitude – in the 1980s. Not for the first time, you also wonder what a difference social media – and a digital world – might have made for a man alleging murder from all the rooftops. A trial by social media, and by extension, public opinion, was a distant dream back then.

This is when the documentary becomes interesting. The talking heads are lawyers, journalists, ex-patients, neighbours, but also Bamberski himself as an old man. Driven by his interview, My Daughter’s Killer reaches a stage where it’s no more about whether Krombach was guilty. For instance, it shows us footage of an interview with a female reporter, where, despite being convicted in France, the German doctor sits pretty in his clinic and sounds anything but remorseful. The film reveals a patriarchal German culture back at a time when victims were mocked and powerful predators were protected by the society that nurtured them. By doing so, it assumes that Krombach is guilty – that he’s a serial rapist, a sexual abuser and a pedophile – and then delves into Bamberski’s audacious effort to take the law into his own hands. Once the system fails him, Bamberski, a grieving father, becomes a vigilante of sorts.

Watching an aged Bamberski describe his mission on screen is moving in a way most fictional, high-pitched rape-and-revenge thrillers often fail to be. Watching footage of him in 2007 – followed by testimonials of people (including cops) praising his undying sense of fatherhood – would put Taken to shame. There’s no doubt that the makers of this documentary believe in Andre Bamberski. But what’s remarkable is that this isn’t a celebration of his grit and endurance. It isn’t an ode to an underdog’s fightback against a rigged system. It recognizes the toll taken on a common man who, along the way, has stopped knowing any other way to live. At some point, as a viewer, you start to wonder if Andre Bamberski is persisting for his late daughter – or for himself. To the maker’s credit, this is never spelled out.

Others describe his house full of files and charts, an image we often associate with aging people who derive purpose from fighting futile battles against impenetrable systems. This purpose, in his case, is justice for a daughter whose face is fading from his memory; he wants to do right by her, yes, but he also wants a reason to mean more than he does. He wants a way to hold onto the only identity he was proud of: parenthood. He is so determined that even the documentary becomes about him, and not about the innocent girl whose life was abused and taken by a vile stepfather. This purpose, in the case of many others, might have been a long-standing property dispute against a powerful builder – pursued with precisely the sort of intensity that Bamberski exhibits. Or it could be a case against a previous employer who defaulted on payments. Or a PIL against a local politician. Looking at Andre Bamberski, the French father who brought Germany to its diplomatic knees, you’d never be able to tell the difference. After all, seeking is an act of survival – and the art of remembering how to live.

My Daughter’s Killer is streaming on Netflix

Sanju Samson reveals reason behind Rajasthan’s loss against Sunrisers in Qualifier 2...

Premium Logo

  • Program Guide
  • Sports News
  • Streaming Services
  • Newsletters
  • OTTplay Awards
  • OTT Replay 2023
  • Changemakers

Home » Review » My Daughter's Killer Review: A gripping documentary on a father's relentless battle to seek justice for her daughter »

My Daughter's Killer Review: A gripping documentary on a father's relentless battle to seek justice for her daughter

My Daughter's Killer Review: A gripping documentary on a father's relentless battle to seek justice for her daughter

  • P Sangeetha

Last Updated: 06.03 PM, Jul 12, 2022

Story: A father's relentless battle that spanned three decades to seek justice for her dead daughter, who was sexually abused and killed by her stepfather 

Review: Kalinka Bamberski, a French teenager, was barely 14 years old when she allegedly died of sunstroke. But how could a perfectly healthy teenager suddenly pass away? It was later revealed that Kalinka's stepfather, a German doctor named Dieter Krombach, had injected her with drugs that he claimed 'helped her tan easily and a drug to treat iron deficiency, which Kalinka didn't suffer from. When Kalinka's father André Bamberski learnt that there was evidence of sexual assault during Kalinka's autopsy and that the genitals of the girl were missing, his suspicion on Krombach only became stronger, despite the fact that her death was declared as purely accidental. The year was 1982 and the three-decade-long battle to seek justice for Kalinka began.

My Daughter's Killer, a true crime documentary revolves around a father's unrelenting battle for justice for his daughter and pursuit of her killer that spanned around 30 years. In one of the scenes, Andre is seen saying, "Kalinka got carved up like a pig in a slaughterhouse, but nobody wanted to know how and why she died.” While Germany had closed the case, Andre decided to take the matter into his own hands

The fight went on for years and Krombach was found guilty in absentia in 1995 at a court in Paris. However, Germany denied Krombach's extradition to France and France, too, didn't issue an international arrest for warrant. Krombach was arrested for drugging and raping a 16-year-old patient, two years after the ruling. Even as more women testified against him in court, there was just not enough evidence, which meant that Krombach would spend 24 months behind bars and was banned from practising medicine as a doctor.

Andre, not the one to give up, continues his fight for justice and as the battle inches towards completing 30 years (France has a 30-year-limit of legal procedures), as one last measue, André organises the adbuction of Krombach from his house and dumps him outside the prosecutor's office in Mulhouse, eastern France, which also has a police station nearby. Krombach is gagged and severely injured when found by the French police officers.

While André was found guilty of organising the kidnapping, Krombach was finally sentenced to 15 years in prison, 29 years after Kalinka's death (in 2011), thus bringing a closure to the long and relentless battle. 

My Daughter's Killer delves into the loopholes and limitations of the justice system and how the medical fraternity, which was highly respected in Germany in the '80s, abused power. The documentary also reveals how crimes against women were not taken seriously at the point of time. A case in point is a scene where the a woman lawmaker is discussing marital rape and the entire house comprising men begin laughing. There are also clips from an interview where Krombach has absolutely no guilt or remorse for the crimes he committed on women, mostly young girls, and is instead seen mocking them. His line, “Like they said in ancient Rome: ‘Those who remain silent seem to agree,” reeks of evilness. The documentary sounds like the plot of a bestseller, but what's disheartening is that it is a true crime. 

Verdict: A gripping true-crime documentary 

WHERE TO WATCH

  • New OTT Releases
  • Web Stories
  • Streaming services
  • Latest News
  • Movies Releases
  • Cookie Policy
  • Shows Releases
  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Subscriber Agreement

Netflix’s My Daughter’s Killer: this shocking true crime documentary follows one father’s fight for justice

The Cinemaholic

My Daughter’s Killer: Where Are They Now?

 of My Daughter’s Killer: Where Are They Now?

Netflix’s ‘My Daughter’s Killer’ is a fascinating documentary about a father’s relentless pursuit of justice. One morning in July 1982, Andre Bamberski learned of the devastating news that his daughter, Kalinka, had died under mysterious circumstances . His suspicions led him to Dieter Krombach, the girl’s stepfather . For decades, Andre did everything he could to bring Dieter to justice. So, if you’re wondering where the people involved are today, here’s what we know.

Where is Andre Bamberski Now?

When Andre initially read Kalinka’s autopsy report, he noticed quite a few things that he felt warranted an investigation. Upon learning that Dieter was the one to find Kalinka dead, Andre began suspecting him. He ultimately believed Dieter sexually assaulted and then killed the teenager with an injection. For the next two decades and more, Andre gave up everything else in his life and made Dieter going to prison his sole purpose.

my daughter's killer movie review

Andre even admitted to ordering Dieter’s kidnapping that occurred in 2009. Ultimately, he succeeded in his mission when Dieter was sent to prison in 2011. While Andre was found guilty for his connection to the kidnapping, he received a suspended sentence and had public support behind him. He currently seems to live in Toulouse, France, with his long-time partner and has expressed satisfaction with the way things turned out.

How Did Dieter Krombach Die?

Dieter Krombach was running a thriving private practice in Lindau, Germany, when his stepdaughter, Kalinka, mysteriously died. At the time, he was married to Kalinka’s mother, with whom he had an affair in the past. In the years that followed, Dieter’s predatory behavior came to light , with women accusing him of drugging and raping them. Furthermore, Kalinka’s autopsy showed some vaginal injuries, making Dieter sexually assaulting her a possibility.

my daughter's killer movie review

In 2009, he was kidnapped in Germany and then brought to France to face trial. A couple of years later, Dieter was sentenced to 15 years in prison for causing Kalinka’s death unintentionally. After being granted an early release in February 2020 due to declining health, he returned to Germany. On September 12, 2020, Dieter, then 85, died due to old age in Lower Saxony, Germany.

Where is Anton Krasniqi Now?

Anton became a crucial player in the case when he met Andre in Bregenz, Austria. At the time, Andre tracked Dieter to Schiedegg, Germany, and had considered the possibility of having him kidnapped and brought to France. Anton, a barman from Kosovo, heard about this and contacted Andre. At the time, the former was moved by the lengths Andre was willing to go to bring Dieter to justice.

my daughter's killer movie review

So, Anton offered to help grab Dieter and bring him to France. In October 2009, he did precisely that with the help of two Russian gangsters. They eventually dropped Dieter off near the courthouse in Mulhouse, France, leading to a trial and conviction. For his part, Anton was sentenced to a year in prison, but he didn’t regret his decision. He was released after serving his sentence in Austria and has maintained a low profile since then, with his last known location being Bregenz.

Where is Danièle Gonnin Now?

my daughter's killer movie review

Danièle was married to Andre when she first met Dieter during the 1970s. The two began an affair , eventually leaving their respective partners and settling in Lindau. Initially, Danièle strongly believed Dieter had nothing to do with her daughter’s death, continuing to hold that belief even after their divorce due to his extramarital affairs . However, many years later, Danièle learned how Dieter drugged her so he could bring other women home while she slept. In the end, she only hoped that the truth of what happened to Kalinka would come out during the trial and didn’t think Dieter was innocent anymore. Since then, Danièle has avoided the media, preferring to live her life away from the spotlight. She was reported to be living in France as of 2011.

Read More: Where Are Dieter Krombach’s Kids Now?

SPONSORED LINKS

The Cinemaholic Sidebar

  • Movie Explainers
  • TV Explainers
  • About The Cinemaholic

my daughter's killer movie review

My Daughter's Killer

my daughter's killer movie review

Where to Watch

my daughter's killer movie review

Stephen Samson (Ivan) Russell MacLeod (Yevgeny Kodoroff) Emil Petrov (Kacha) Marek Gajda (Anton) Ivan Vorlictek (Krombach (00s)) Grace Muscroft (Waltraud)

Antoine Tassin

A father fights for decades to bring his daughter's killer to justice in France and Germany before taking extreme measures

Recommendations

my daughter's killer movie review

Advertisement

  • TV & Film
  • Say Maaate to a Mate
  • First Impressions - The Game
  • Daily Ladness
  • Citizen Reef

To make sure you never miss out on your favourite NEW stories , we're happy to send you some reminders

Click ' OK ' then ' Allow ' to enable notifications

New Netflix True Crime Documentary Tells Shocking Story Of Dad's Mission To Avenge Daughter's Death

New Netflix True Crime Documentary Tells Shocking Story Of Dad's Mission To Avenge Daughter's Death

The 14-year-old was killed by her stepdad, a renowned german doctor, and her father spent decades pursuing justice..

Jake Massey

Jake Massey

A new Netflix documentary tells the shocking story of one man's mission to avenge his daughter's death. Watch an exclusive clip here:

In 1982, French teenager Kalinka Bamberski died in the house of her stepdad, renowned German doctor Dieter Krombach.

German prosecutors ruled the death of the 14-year-old was accidental, but disturbing autopsy results led her dad André to believe that Krombach had raped and murdered her.

In My Daughter's Killer , André reflects on his remarkable battle for justice, which spanned the best part of three decades.

André never gave up in his pursuit of justice.

The grieving dad battled to get the doctor sent down, but Germany closed the case and denied Krombach's extradition to France.

But after an unrelenting campaign by André, Krombach was tried in absentia in France and convicted of manslaughter.

Still, Germany denied extradition, and with years of tireless fighting proving unsuccessful, the statute of limitations in France - which dictated that convictions could not be brought after 30 years - got ever closer to running out.

Resorting to one last desperate measure, André arranged for Krombach to be kidnapped from his home and dumped outside of the prosecutor's office in Mulhouse, eastern France.

The case shocked the world and André was found guilty of organising the kidnapping - but in 2011, 29 years on from Kalinka's death, Krombach was finally convicted and sentenced to 15 years behind bars.

She died aged 14, and justice didn't come for decades.

A synopsis for the new documentary reads: " My Daughter's Killer explores the limits of justice, abuse of power in the medical profession and the widespread indifference to crimes committed against women.

"In-depth interviews take us on Bamberski's journey, as he reveals the lengths he went to to try and bring Krombach to justice, whether it was flyering Krombach's hometown or alerting the authorities, everything in Germany failed. And although a trial in France found Krombach guilty, the German authorities refused to extradite him.

"Over the years other women accuse Krombach of assaults and rape, but he faces no charges for Kalinka's death and in a chilling TV interview, he reveals his complete lack of remorse towards his accusers.

"Finally in desperation in 2009, Bamberski takes matters into his own hands. This 70-year-old accountant decides he needs to get Krombach to France where there is a warrant for his arrest. On 17 October 2009, Krombach is found outside Mulhouse courthouse, bound and gagged.

"Two years later, in October 2011, he is finally convicted for the death of Kalinka. But it has taken a father 29 years, a brutal abduction and even his own conviction for the kidnapping to get there. Speaking in the film, Bamberski reflects on the toll of his pursuit and how he did it all for his beloved daughter Kalinka."

You can stream My Daughter's Killer on Netflix from 12 July.

Topics:  Netflix , True Crime , Crime , Documentaries

Jake Massey is a journalist at LADbible. He graduated from Newcastle University, where he learnt a bit about media and a lot about living without heating. After spending a few years in Australia and New Zealand, Jake secured a role at an obscure radio station in Norwich, inadvertently becoming a real-life Alan Partridge in the process. From there, Jake became a reporter at the Eastern Daily Press. Jake enjoys playing football, listening to music and writing about himself in the third person.

@ jakesmassey

Choose your content:

my daughter's killer movie review

John Krasinski fans horrified after hearing bizarre encounter he had with fan

John krasinski's fan encounter will probably have several viewers pulling a 'jim face' to the nearest camera.

my daughter's killer movie review

Jeremy Renner makes sobering admission after being told he'd never walk again following major snow plow accident

Jeremy renner was seriously injured in a snow plow crash back in 2023.

my daughter's killer movie review

Super Size Me star Morgan Spurlock has died aged 53

The documentary maker has died at just 53-years-old.

my daughter's killer movie review

Controversial cancelled series with ‘overload of d**ks’ is one of Netflix’s most watch titles

The netflix show divided viewers with its load of nudity.

  • True story behind twisted new Netflix documentary that knocked Baby Reindeer off number one spot
  • Netflix viewers urge people to watch new 'absolute mind f**k' true crime documentary that dropped today
  • Netflix's new true crime documentary leaves viewers vowing to never use dating sites again
  • Where Matthew Hardy is now as Netflix viewers are left disturbed by ‘chilling’ new cyber crime documentary

Join or Sign In

Sign in to customize your TV listings

By joining TV Guide, you agree to our Terms of Use and acknowledge the data practices in our Privacy Policy .

  • TV Listings
  • Cast & Crew

My Daughter's Killer Reviews

  • 1 hr 24 mins
  • Documentary
  • Watchlist Where to Watch

A grieving father resorts to extremes in his quest to bring justice to his daughter's murderer.

my daughter's killer movie review

‘My Mother's Eyes' Salem Horror Fest 2024 Review: Beautiful And Questionable Chaos

M other and daughter relationships are complicated even under the best of circumstances. So, they are one of the best places to start when mapping out a psychodrama like  My Mother’s Eyes.  Writer-director Takeshi Kushida's tale opens with a lengthy shot of a woman's eyes as she gives birth. Here is where the relationship between Hitomi (Akane Ono) and her daughter Eri (Mone Shitara) really begins. However, nothing in this movie is simple or as it seems on the surface.

Hitomi and Eri seem close at first glance. They’re celebrated cellists who perform together, after all. But something is amiss. As we're trying to figure out if Hitomi is jealous of her daughter or simply using her as an extension of herself, the movie takes a huge turn. As Eri tells Hitomi that she knows giving birth to her is her biggest regret in life, their car crashes. Hitomi awakens without sight and discovers that Eri is paralyzed from the neck down. This seemingly marks her daughter as a lost cause to her and she leaves her unconscious body in the hospital.

She sets out to regain her vision via a contact lens device with a built-in camera. However, she does return for one visit when her daughter awakens. She gifts her a pair of VR goggles so that they may share a single vision. This forces them to grow closer than ever before even though her mother is starting a new life. This is also where My Mother’s Eyes gleefully peels off the last thin layers of restraint and gets even weirder.

Also Read:  ‘Liminal' Salem Horror Fest 2024 Review: The South Is Scary

Hitomi is a cold woman and I love to see questionable moms in media because that’s reality. We shouldn't let her off the hook for abandoning her daughter's body in the hospital. Her idea to share the same vision and way too many intimate experiences, because they are now joined, is also concerning. I see glimmers of those mothers who pour all of their frustrations about giving up parts of themselves to raise a child onto their offspring. However, she's too interesting and complex to simply paint as a villain. Plus, there are bigger threats as she realizes the people who restored her sight have ill intentions. 

Putting Eri in the victim column, even though she’s a child who’s happy to finally be forming a genuine bond with her mother, is also reductive. It's heartbreaking when she asks her mother, "Why do you pretend you love me? Is it for me or for you?" and Hitomi doesn't have a satisfactory answer. However, the character is so much more than just a vessel for audiences to dump pity into. The family dynamics at play here are rich and interesting. The movie leaves you trying to untangle it all long after the credits are over. Much like Hitomi,  My Mother’s Eyes  keeps everyone at arm's length. This makes it hard to gauge how you should feel about it from one moment to the next.

Also Read:  ‘The Strangers: Chapter 1' Review: A Frustrating Attempt To Revive The Past

Off the bat, mama trauma is one of the most unsettling horror topics for me as a person. I'm in the majority of people who have a complicated relationship with my own mom. So, I was already stressed out before people started inserting things into Hitomi's eyeballs. I had to look away multiple times as I squirmed in my seat. The eye horror was the most distressing part of the film for me. I was completely fine with all of the people who fell victim to cello bows. However, the tense shots of fingers pushing futuristic contact lenses onto pupils are what sent me to hell. This is when I stopped wondering if this was basically an extended  Black Mirror  episode set in Japan. 

My Mother’s Eyes  is a bold and artistic story about a mother and daughter discovering they are soulmates. As the story goes on, the line dividing where one begins and the other ends gets more literal and less metaphorical. It manages to rise above the expectation of a film at the intersection of arthouse and  Black Mirror . It reaches for something more unique as the chaos continually escalates in unexpected ways. I doubt this strange movie will be everyone's cup of tea. However, I love a tale that investigates the complexities of mother-daughter relationships and doesn’t give you easy answers. I'm also here for movies that paint outside the lines, almost daring the audience to rethink what they have been taught about storytelling. I find that commendable in this age where people go to TikTok with conservative moral outrage while refusing to do even the most basic script analysis. 

Did you also see  My Mother’s Eyes  at  Salem Horror Fest  this year? Then let me know if you also enjoyed this cool and strange movie at  @misssharai .

‘My Mother's Eyes' Salem Horror Fest 2024 Review: Beautiful And Questionable Chaos

  • Cast & crew

Trap (2024)

A father and his teen daughter attend a pop concert only to realize they've entered the center of a dark and sinister event. A father and his teen daughter attend a pop concert only to realize they've entered the center of a dark and sinister event. A father and his teen daughter attend a pop concert only to realize they've entered the center of a dark and sinister event.

  • M. Night Shyamalan
  • Josh Hartnett
  • Alison Pill
  • Hayley Mills

Official Trailer

  • Jody's Mom

Vanessa Smythe

  • Tour Manager

Malik Jubal

  • Main Street Pedestrian #1

Peter D'Souza

  • Young Swat Member

Scott Ian MacDougall

  • FBI Agent …

John Andrews

  • Police Officer

Kaitlyn Dallan

  • (credit only)
  • All cast & crew
  • Production, box office & more at IMDbPro

More like this

The Watchers

Did you know

  • Trivia While being distributed by a major studio (Warner Bros), Trap was allowed to resume filming under an interim agreement during the SAG-AFTRA strike as M. Night Shyamalan independently finances his own films.
  • Connections Referenced in All About: All About Horror in 2024 (2023)

New and Upcoming Horror

Production art

  • When will Trap be released? Powered by Alexa
  • August 9, 2024 (United States)
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Good Grades
  • Hamilton, Ontario, Canada (FirstOntario Center)
  • Blinding Edge Pictures
  • See more company credits at IMDbPro

Technical specs

Related news, contribute to this page.

Trap (2024)

  • See more gaps
  • Learn more about contributing

More to explore

Production art

Recently viewed

To revisit this article, visit My Profile, then View saved stories .

7 Films That Capture the Complexity of Mother-Daughter Relationships

By Radhika Seth

mothers day films movies Netflix films to stream films to watch

We may earn a commission if you buy something from any affiliate links on our site.

There are few things as complicated and endlessly fascinating as our relationships with our mothers. Below, we celebrate mothers and mother-figures alike through a look back at seven life-affirming films to stream together, all of which pay tribute to the indefinable bonds that exist between mothers and daughters.

The Truth (2019)

mothers day films movies Netflix films to stream films to watch

Catherine Deneuve and Juliette Binoche are delightful as a ravishing, self-indulgent movie star and her long-suffering screenwriter daughter in Hirokazu Kore-eda’s delicate study of motherhood in all its forms. When the former releases a contentious memoir, the latter comes to visit with her husband (Ethan Hawke) and child (Clémentine Grenier) in tow. They dissect past grievances and reopen old wounds, but their final reconciliation is a moment of profound, tear-jerking tenderness.

How to watch: Stream on Prime Video or YouTube .

Little Women (2019)

Image may contain Meryl Streep Laura Dern Person Adult Wedding Head Face Happy Smile Accessories Bag and Handbag

By Hannah Coates

Lily Collins Has Found a French-Girl Alternative to the Adidas Samba

In previous adaptations of Louisa May Alcott’s beloved classic, the character of Marmee—mother to the March sisters Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy—faded into the background with her saintly charity work. Not so in Greta Gerwig’s spirited retelling, in which she’s played with steely determination by Laura Dern. She gives her daughters the freedom to chase their dreams and make mistakes, admitting to them that she’s far from perfect and contends with anger nearly every day of her life.

How to watch: Stream on Hulu , Prime Video , or YouTube .

Miss Juneteenth (2020)

Image may contain Head Person Face Happy Smile Child Adult Driving Transportation and Vehicle

The central relationship in Channing Godfrey Peoples’s touching drama is between a young mother (a wondrous Nicole Beharie) and her mischievous teenage daughter (the radiant Alexis Chikaeze), whom she enters into a pageant in hopes of getting her a scholarship to college. As the pair face mounting bills, snooty rivals, and unsuitable romantic prospects, they bicker about their differing priorities but also grow closer.

How to watch: Stream on Netflix , Prime Video , or YouTube .

Enola Holmes (2020)

Image may contain Jette Hering Helena Bonham Carter Face Head Person Photography and Portrait

A madcap mystery that depicts a daughter’s search for her eccentric mother, Harry Bradbeer’s coming-of-age charmer casts an ebullient Millie Bobby Brown as the titular teenage detective and sister of Sherlock Holmes. Helena Bonham Carter plays their mother, a suffragette who suddenly disappears, leaving behind a string of clues. In solving them, Enola is guided by her mother’s spirit—a free thinker who taught her archery, chess, and jiu-jitsu as well as the value of independence.

How to watch: Stream on Netflix .

Herself (2020)

Image may contain Face Happy Head Person Smile Teen Photography Car Transportation Vehicle Portrait and Body Part

When Sandra, a domestic-abuse survivor, manages to escape her controlling husband with her two young daughters, a housing shortage jeopardizes their future in Phyllida Lloyd’s heart-wrenching saga. Clare Dunne takes the lead with a performance that weaves together fragility and resilience, as she assembles a group of volunteers and attempts to build a home of her own. It’s an inspiring tale about the kindness of strangers but, ultimately, it’s Sandra and her girls who save each other.

How to watch: Stream on

King Richard (2021)

Image may contain Aunjanue Ellis Head Person Face Child Adult Accessories Glasses and People

Its title might nod to Richard Williams (Will Smith), the father and tireless coach of tennis legends Venus and Serena (Saniyya Sidney and Demi Singleton), but crucial to the success of Reinaldo Marcus Green’s soaring sports epic is Aunjanue Ellis as their fiercely protective, no-nonsense mother, Oracene. She works double shifts as a nurse, is unafraid of calling out her husband when he falls short, and nurtures her daughters with the same dedication that she brings to their training. In the end, they owe her just as much as they owe him.

How to watch: Stream on Apple TV , Max , Netflix , or YouTube .

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret. (2023)

Image may contain Person Romantic Cuddling Adult Accessories Bag and Handbag

In Kelly Fremon Craig’s heartwarming rendering of Judy Blume’s seminal tale of girlhood joy and anguish, Abby Ryder Fortson is wonderful as the titular 11-year-old grappling with growing pains, new friendships, crushes, and a move to the suburbs, as is Rachel McAdams as her supportive mother, a painter and art teacher who sets her own passions aside to become more involved in her daughter’s parent-teacher association. As they both lose themselves and then, slowly, rediscover their identities, their unshakeable bond is always visible.

How to watch: Stream on Apple TV , Prime Video , or YouTube .

N.S. doctor predicted decades ago his daughter's murder would be solved. Now it has been

Barbara jean maclean, 19, of inverness, n.s., died in 1977. dna evidence and genealogy found her killer.

my daughter's killer movie review

Social Sharing

In the months after his 19-year-old daughter was murdered in Calgary in February 1977, Nova Scotian Dr. Jim MacLean predicted the case would be solved.

"It may take two or three years but I'm confident that the murderer will be behind bars," he said in the July 27, 1977, edition of The Albertan newspaper.

"I know the man will be found. It's all a matter of time."

Dr. Jim MacLean died in 2000. But his prediction has finally come true.

On Friday, RCMP announced that Barbara Jean MacLean's death and that of three other women in Calgary in 1976 were at the hands of one man, an American named Gary Allen Srery. The violent drifter and sex offender lived in Alberta and B.C. from the mid-1970s until 2003, when he was deported. He died in an Idaho prison in 2011.

Photographs of four young women.

Srery was identified as the killer through DNA evidence and genealogy.

"Srery's criminality spanned decades, over multiple jurisdictions, under numerous aliases, and the Alberta RCMP believe there may be more victims," says an RCMP statement.

The families of the four victims asked not to be contacted, according to the statement, but the force provided statements from them.

"The pain of losing Barbara so tragically has been a constant presence in our lives, but recent developments have finally brought us answers to questions that we've had to live with all these years," said the MacLean family statement.

It called MacLean "a daughter, sister, aunt, cousin and niece."

Newspaper records from 1977 say MacLean was friendly, outgoing and trusting.

MacLean was 'full of life and smart as hell,' said brother

MacLean had only been in Calgary for around six months before her death. She lived with her two brothers. She worked at a restaurant and later at a bank.

"She was ... full of life and smart as hell and just excited to be away from home for the first time," brother Jim MacLean told the Calgary Herald in the Feb. 28, 1977, edition.

Her father said there were a few reasons why she had left their home community of Inverness, N.S.

"Inverness is a run-down former mining town and there aren't many opportunities for a young girl fresh out of high school," he said in the Feb. 28, 1977, edition of the Edmonton Journal.

"She also wanted to get away from mom and dad and stand on her own two feet."

He said his daughter was homesick and had plans to go home for a two-week visit in early March.

Old photograph of long-haired, bearded man with a purple sweater and a pipe

A Feb. 28, 1977, Calgary Herald article said she planned to return home and go to university in the next year.

"There is absolutely no reason for this to happen," brother Bobby MacLean told the Edmonton Journal.

"She didn't have any enemies. I just can't seem to put the pieces of the puzzle together."

RCMP say Srery was a predator who stalked his victims from behind the wheel, targeting young women and girls before discarding their bodies on the roadside.

my daughter's killer movie review

Alberta RCMP have solved four historical homicides dating to the 1970s

A March 26, 1977, Calgary Herald article noted that Calgary RCMP and city police believed MacLean's killer was also responsible for three other women's deaths. Of those deaths, only one — Melissa Ann Rehorek — was confirmed to be because of Srery.

In the July 27, 1977, Albertan article, Dr. Jim MacLean expressed frustration with police's handling of the case.

"We've called the RCMP in Calgary several times but we don't know anymore now than we did the day she died," he said. "We haven't called for a while because it keeps things too stirred up. This has been a terribly painful experience for my wife and I. I wish it was over."

Family thanks police for 'relentless pursuit' of justice

Dr. Jim MacLean died at the age of 79. Besides being a family doctor and surgeon, he also served separate stints as a Tory MLA in 1963-1974 and 1984-1988.

The MacLean family statement thanked police for their "relentless pursuit" of justice.

"This breakthrough reaffirms our belief in the power of perseverance and the importance of embracing scientific advancements in law enforcement," it said.

  • What's open and closed on Victoria Day in the Halifax area
  • 'From Peggys Cove to the Eastern Shore': Uber expands across Halifax municipality
  • 'He averted a catastrophe': Parent praises bus driver after 18-wheeler fell from overpass above
  • Multiple closures planned for Halifax harbour bridges this spring, summer
  • East Preston celebrates Liza Brooks on her 105th birthday

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

my daughter's killer movie review

Richard Woodbury is a journalist with CBC Nova Scotia's digital team. He can be reached at [email protected].

Related Stories

  • Alberta RCMP link four Calgary murders in 1970s to American serial killer
  • Two 14-year-olds charged with 2nd-degree murder in Halifax teen's stabbing
  • Hosting a Ukrainian refugee family reminds me of my own family's journey 70 years ago

CBC Nova Scotia

Add some “good” to your morning and evening.

Get the latest top stories from across Nova Scotia in your inbox every weekday.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Google Terms of Service apply.

  • Share full article

For more audio journalism and storytelling, download New York Times Audio , a new iOS app available for news subscribers.

The Daily logo

  • May 24, 2024   •   25:18 Whales Have an Alphabet
  • May 23, 2024   •   34:24 I.C.C. Prosecutor Requests Warrants for Israeli and Hamas Leaders
  • May 22, 2024   •   23:20 Biden’s Open War on Hidden Fees
  • May 21, 2024   •   24:14 The Crypto Comeback
  • May 20, 2024   •   31:51 Was the 401(k) a Mistake?
  • May 19, 2024   •   33:23 The Sunday Read: ‘Why Did This Guy Put a Song About Me on Spotify?’
  • May 17, 2024   •   51:10 The Campus Protesters Explain Themselves
  • May 16, 2024   •   30:47 The Make-or-Break Testimony of Michael Cohen
  • May 15, 2024   •   27:03 The Possible Collapse of the U.S. Home Insurance System
  • May 14, 2024   •   35:20 Voters Want Change. In Our Poll, They See It in Trump.
  • May 13, 2024   •   27:46 How Biden Adopted Trump’s Trade War With China
  • May 10, 2024   •   27:42 Stormy Daniels Takes the Stand

I.C.C. Prosecutor Requests Warrants for Israeli and Hamas Leaders

The move sets up a possible showdown between the international court and israel with its biggest ally, the united states..

Hosted by Sabrina Tavernise

Featuring Patrick Kingsley

Produced by Will Reid ,  Diana Nguyen and Shannon M. Lin

Edited by Liz O. Baylen and Michael Benoist

Original music by Elisheba Ittoop

Engineered by Chris Wood

Listen and follow The Daily Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Amazon Music | YouTube

This week, Karim Khan, the top prosecutor of the International Criminal Court, requested arrest warrants for Israel’s prime minister, Benjamin Netanyahu, and the country’s defense minister, Yoav Gallant.

Patrick Kingsley, the Times’s bureau chief in Jerusalem, explains why this may set up a possible showdown between the court and Israel with its biggest ally, the United States.

On today’s episode

my daughter's killer movie review

Patrick Kingsley , the Jerusalem bureau chief for The New York Times.

Karim Khan, in a head-and-shoulders photo, stands outside a palatial building.

Background reading

Why did a prosecutor go public with the arrest warrant requests ?

The warrant request appeared to shore up domestic support for Mr. Netanyahu.

There are a lot of ways to listen to The Daily. Here’s how.

We aim to make transcripts available the next workday after an episode’s publication. You can find them at the top of the page.

The Daily is made by Rachel Quester, Lynsea Garrison, Clare Toeniskoetter, Paige Cowett, Michael Simon Johnson, Brad Fisher, Chris Wood, Jessica Cheung, Stella Tan, Alexandra Leigh Young, Lisa Chow, Eric Krupke, Marc Georges, Luke Vander Ploeg, M.J. Davis Lin, Dan Powell, Sydney Harper, Mike Benoist, Liz O. Baylen, Asthaa Chaturvedi, Rachelle Bonja, Diana Nguyen, Marion Lozano, Corey Schreppel, Rob Szypko, Elisheba Ittoop, Mooj Zadie, Patricia Willens, Rowan Niemisto, Jody Becker, Rikki Novetsky, John Ketchum, Nina Feldman, Will Reid, Carlos Prieto, Ben Calhoun, Susan Lee, Lexie Diao, Mary Wilson, Alex Stern, Dan Farrell, Sophia Lanman, Shannon Lin, Diane Wong, Devon Taylor, Alyssa Moxley, Summer Thomad, Olivia Natt, Daniel Ramirez and Brendan Klinkenberg.

Our theme music is by Jim Brunberg and Ben Landsverk of Wonderly. Special thanks to Sam Dolnick, Paula Szuchman, Lisa Tobin, Larissa Anderson, Julia Simon, Sofia Milan, Mahima Chablani, Elizabeth Davis-Moorer, Jeffrey Miranda, Renan Borelli, Maddy Masiello, Isabella Anderson and Nina Lassam.

Patrick Kingsley is The Times’s Jerusalem bureau chief, leading coverage of Israel, Gaza and the West Bank. More about Patrick Kingsley

Advertisement

IMAGES

  1. My Daughter’s Killer 2022 Movie Review

    my daughter's killer movie review

  2. My Daughter’s Killer Review |Netflix|

    my daughter's killer movie review

  3. My Daughter's Killer Movie Review

    my daughter's killer movie review

  4. My Daughter's Killer Netflix Documentary Review

    my daughter's killer movie review

  5. My Daughter’s Killer (2022)

    my daughter's killer movie review

  6. My Daughter's Killer (2022)

    my daughter's killer movie review

VIDEO

  1. A Daughter's Secret (Official Trailer)

  2. His Daughter Is KILLED In An Act Of Terrorism, He Seeks For Revenge

  3. Forgiving my daughter's killer

  4. The Lady Killer Review, Arjun Kapoor, Bhumi Padnekar

  5. The Killer Movie Review Telugu @Kittucinematalks

COMMENTS

  1. My Daughter's Killer Movie Review

    Kids say: Not yet rated Rate movie. My Daughter's Killer is a solid, absorbing documentary that goes beyond the ordinary cold case investigation. It focuses on the remarkable doggedness of a skeptical grieving parent who simply refused to believe his healthy child had died of natural causes. It's well-paced with twists and turns that rival ...

  2. My Daughter's Killer review

    The documentary is focused around André Bamberski's fight for justice in the 1980s when his daughter was killed and lawful procedures were overturned. This story is emotive, powerful, and frustrating. Kalinka Bamberski was only 14 when she was murdered in 1982 in Lindau, Germany. We are led to believe she was killed by her stepfather Dieter ...

  3. My Daughter's Killer on Netflix: Kalinka was 14 when she was killed

    Netflix's new true-crime documentary tells the story of Kalinka Bamberski's death and her father's extraordinary, 30-year quest for justice against the man responsible. Tom Murray speaks to ...

  4. My Daughter's Killer: what happened to Kalinka Bamberski? All your

    My Daughter's Killer is a one-off documentary that lasts for one hour and twenty-four minutes. The true-crime show, which takes place in France and Germany, tells the story of 14-year-old Kalinka Bamberski who was killed by her stepfather, Dieter Krombach, leading to her father, André Bamberski, dedicating his life to bringing his daughter's ...

  5. My Daughter's Killer (2022)

    My Daughter's Killer: Directed by Antoine Tassin. With Stephen Samson, Russell MacLeod, Emil Petrov, Marek Gajda. A father fights for decades to bring his daughter's killer to justice in France and Germany before taking extreme measures

  6. My Daughter's Killer

    Read our full My Daughter's Killer documentary review here! MY DAUGHTER'S KILLER is a new Netflix true-crime documentary from France. The case begins in Germany when a teenage girl dies mysteriously and suddenly in 1982. Her name was Kalinka Bamberski and things seem to be off from the very beginning. This results in a case that plays out ...

  7. My Daughter's Killer review: Rare Netflix true-crime doc ...

    My Daughter's Killer is French. And, without reiterating stereotypes, it shows. There's an unsaid cultural code: a sense of awareness about how the retelling of a decades-long tragedy unfurls, and an inherent trust in the viewer's ability to locate the soul of the story. The storytelling is sharp, no-frills, and oddly poignant.

  8. My Daughter's Killer Review: A gripping documentary on a father's

    My Daughter's Killer, a true crime documentary revolves around a father's unrelenting battle for justice for his daughter and pursuit of her killer that spanned around 30 years. In one of the scenes, Andre is seen saying, "Kalinka got carved up like a pig in a slaughterhouse, but nobody wanted to know how and why she died."

  9. My Daughter's Killer (2022)

    SpacemanBob 19 July 2022. Great documentary about a father's 30 year quest for justice for his daughter; murdered by her stepfather; a con artist, rapist, and pedophile. The film is well done; it's nicely edited, so therefore not overly long or hard to follow; however, the real reason to watch is the story.

  10. My Daughter's Killer is Netflix's emotional new true crime doc

    My Daughter's Killer is now available to watch on Netflix and it follows a harrowing tale of kidnap, murder and the ensuing fight for justice. Trigger warning: this article contains references ...

  11. 'My Daughter's Killer' Explained: Who Was Dieter Krombach? Who Killed

    When he learned of the sudden demise of his daughter, Kalinka, he was shaken. Kalinka's stepfather, Dieter Krombach, called the hospital, and when the ambulance arrived, the nurse noticed that the young girl was already in rigor mortis. What seemed strange to her was that Kalinka was injected with calcium.

  12. My Daughter's Killer: Where Are They Now?

    Viswa Vanapalli. July 14, 2022. Netflix's 'My Daughter's Killer' is a fascinating documentary about a father's relentless pursuit of justice. One morning in July 1982, Andre Bamberski learned of the devastating news that his daughter, Kalinka, had died under mysterious circumstances. His suspicions led him to Dieter Krombach, the girl ...

  13. My Daughter's Killer Review: Justice For Kalinka Bamberski

    After the intriguing The Girl in the Picture released by Netflix last week, this week the OTT platform is home to My Daughter's Killer aka L'assassin de ma fille- another documentary that brings out the horrors and loopholes of society.Directed by Antoine Tassin, the French docu-film is 1 hour 24 minutes long. The cast of the film includes real-life people associated with the case at ...

  14. My Daughter's Killer (2022)

    Film Movie Reviews My Daughter's Killer — 2022. My Daughter's Killer. 2022. 1h 23m. TV-MA. Crime/Documentary. Where to Watch. Stream. Advertisement. Cast.

  15. Watch My Daughter's Killer

    A father fights for decades to bring his daughter's killer to justice in France and Germany before taking extreme measures. A true crime documentary. Watch trailers & learn more.

  16. Watch My Daughter's Killer

    A father fights for decades to bring his daughter's killer to justice in France and Germany before taking extreme measures. A true crime documentary. Watch all you want. Through interviews and archival footage, director Antoine Tassin examines André Bamberski's crusade for daughter Kalinka.

  17. Watch My Daughter's Killer

    My Daughter's Killer 2022 | Maturity Rating: TV-MA | 1h 23m | Documentary A father fights for decades to bring his daughter's killer to justice in France and Germany before taking extreme measures.

  18. New Netflix True Crime Documentary Tells Shocking Story Of Dad's

    Published 20:45 11 Jul 2022 GMT+1. A new Netflix documentary tells the shocking story of one man's mission to avenge his daughter's death. Watch an exclusive clip here: In 1982, French teenager ...

  19. Watch My Daughter's Killer

    UNLIMITED TV SHOWS & MOVIES. JOIN NOW SIGN IN. My Daughter's Killer. 2022 | Maturity Rating: U/A 16+ | 1h 24m | Documentaries. ... Trailer: My Daughter's Killer. More Details. Watch offline. Downloads only available on ad-free plans. Genres. Documentaries, True Crime Documentaries, Crime Movies.

  20. Watch My Daughter's Killer

    UNLIMITED TV SHOWS & MOVIES. JOIN NOW SIGN IN. My Daughter's Killer. 2022 | Maturity Rating: 16+ | 1h 24m | Crime Movies. ... Trailer: My Daughter's Killer. More Details. Watch offline. Downloads only available on ad-free plans. Genres. Documentary Films, True Crime Documentaries, Crime Movies.

  21. My Daughter's Killer Review |Netflix|

    My Daughter's Killer Review |Netflix|The French-made documentary film about the story of a father has been released on Netflix.

  22. My Daughter's Killer

    Check out the exclusive TV Guide movie review and see our movie rating for My Daughter's Killer. X. Join or Sign In. ... My Daughter's Killer Reviews. 2022; Documentary NR

  23. Best Modern Horror Movies Set in the '80s

    The movie follows 17-year-old Jamie (Kiernan Shipka) after she is accidentally transported back to 1987 when the infamous "Sweet 16" killer returns 35 years after he claimed his first three victims.

  24. 'My Mother's Eyes' Salem Horror Fest 2024 Review: Beautiful And ...

    Writer-director Takeshi Kushida's tale opens with a lengthy shot of a woman's eyes as she gives birth. Here is where the relationship between Hitomi (Akane Ono) and her daughter Eri (Mone Shitara ...

  25. Trap (2024)

    Trap: Directed by M. Night Shyamalan. With Josh Hartnett, Alison Pill, Hayley Mills, Ariel Donoghue. A father and his teen daughter attend a pop concert only to realize they've entered the center of a dark and sinister event.

  26. 7 Mother Daughter Movies to Watch This Mother's Day

    The Truth (2019) Catherine Deneuve and Juliette Binoche are delightful as a ravishing, self-indulgent movie star and her long-suffering screenwriter daughter in Hirokazu Kore-eda's delicate ...

  27. N.S. doctor predicted decades ago his daughter's murder would be solved

    In the months after his 19-year-old daughter was murdered in Calgary in February 1977, Nova Scotian Dr. Jim MacLean predicted the case would be solved. "It may take two or three years but I'm ...

  28. The Sunday Read: 'Why Did This Guy Put a Song About Me on Spotify?'

    Even Brett Martin, a contributing writer for The New York Times Magazine and the titular Nice Man, didn't hear the 1 minute 14 second song until last summer, a full 11 years after it was ...

  29. I.C.C. Prosecutor Requests Warrants for Israeli and Hamas Leaders

    The move sets up a possible showdown between the international court and Israel with its biggest ally, the United States. This week, Karim Khan, the top prosecutor of the International Criminal ...